Impact of our performance-based society on the horse world

Was is still natural in the horse world?

The horse, as a part of nature, is also influenced by the performance pressure of today's society. 

Even in breeding, we are far removed from the natural process. Natural selection is replaced by frozen sperm. Foals are often separated from their mothers before mare and foal are properly prepared, simply so that they can go to the foal pasture, sometimes as early as 3 months of age. Little thought is given to the psychological scars that result on both the foal and its mother. In addition, a pasture full of foals is like a kindergarten without a teacher. In nature, foals grow up in large families and also learn from the older horses.

After the foal pasture, it's time for training. Horses are broken in and trained according to the human schedule. If you know that a horse's body is not fully grown until it is 6-8 years old, you have to be careful with it until then. At the same time, training must be based on the individual's mental and emotional readiness. If a horse is not trained holistically, this will leave its mark on every level.

Stallions usually live a solitary life, focused on performance in sport or as breeding stallions. They never get to know their offspring and are not involved in their upbringing. Even broodmares do always get the opportunity to grow up with their offspring.

After training, horses are integrated into their owner's life and are dependent on this person's willingness to respond to the horse's needs. How free is the horse really, how much is determined by the human and where is the horse allowed to decide, e.g. can it eat when it is hungry? 

Fortunately, there has been a significant increase in the number of open stables and yet around 50% of Swiss horses still live in individual stalls. Although there are still indoor stalls, with the current state of knowledge they should not be expected of any horse.

For me, the treatment of horses and other living creatures is a reflection of our performance-oriented society and consumer behavior, which has led us to where the world is today. Everyone knows that this is not a good situation and that we urgently need to rethink. Our performance culture is artificial and man-made, nature doesn't work like that. It is based on mutual help and cooperation and serves the good of the whole.

A lot has changed positively for the good of the horse, but there is still a long way to go. How can you contribute to this change?

EN

Auswirkungen unserer Leistungsgesellschaft auf die Pferdewelt

Was ist noch natürlich in der Pferdewelt?

Das Pferd als Teil der Natur ist auch vom Leistungsdruck unserer Gesellschaft betroffen. 

Schon in der Zucht entfernen wir uns stark von der Natur. Natürliche Selektion wird durch eingefrorene Spermien ersetzt. Fohlen werden oft von ihrer Mutter getrennt, bevor Stute und Fohlen pferdegerecht darauf vorbereitet sind, einfach damit sie auf die Fohlenweide gehen, zum Teil schon mit 3 Monaten. Es wird wenig an die seelischen Narben, die daraus entstehen gedacht. Zusätzlich ist eine reine Fohlenweide wie ein Kindergarten ohne Lehrer. In der Natur wachsen Fohlen in Grossfamilien auf und werden von älteren Pferden erzogen.

Nach der Fohlenweide geht es in die Ausbildung. Pferde werden eingeritten und ausgebildet nach dem Zeitplan vom Menschen. Wenn man weiss, dass ein Pferdekörper erst mit 6-8 Jahren voll ausgewachsen ist, müsste man bis dahin vorsichtig mit ihm umgehen. Die Ausbildung muss sich gleichzeitig nach der mentalen und emotionalen Bereitschaft des Individuums richten. Es werden auf jeder Ebene Spuren hinterlassen, wenn ein Pferd nicht ganzheitlich ausgebildet wird.

Hengste leben meistens ein einsames Leben, das auf Leistung im Sport oder als Zuchthengst ausgerichtet ist. Sie lernen nie ihre Kinder kennen und sind bei der Erziehung nicht dabei. Auch Zuchtstuten bekommen nicht die Möglichkeit mit ihren Fohlen aufzuwachsen.

Nach der Ausbildung werden Pferde in das Leben von ihrem Halter integriert und sind abhängig von der Bereitschaft dieses Menschen auf die Bedürfnisse des Pferdes einzugehen. Wie frei ist das Pferd wirklich, wie viel wird vom Menschen bestimmt und wo darf das Pferd entscheiden, z. B. kann es essen, wenn es Hunger hat? 

Erfreulicherweise, gibt es eine deutliche Steigerung in den Anzahl Offenställe und trotzdem leben immer noch ca. 50 % der Schweizer Pferde in Einzelboxen. Obwohl es noch Innenboxen gibt, dürfte man sie mit dem heutigen Wissensstand keinem Pferd zumuten.

Der Umgang mit Pferden und andere Lebewesen ist für mich ein Spiegel unserer Leistungsgesellschaft und Konsumverhaltens, die uns dort geführt hat, wo die Welt heute steht. Jeder weiss, dass es kein schöner Zustand ist und dass wir dringend aufgefordert sind umzudenken. Unsere Leistungskultur ist künstlich und vom Menschen erzeugt, die Natur funktioniert nicht so. Sie basiert aus gegenseitiger Hilfe und Kooperation und dient dem Wohl des Ganzen.

Vieles hat sich zum Wohl des Pferdes positiv verändert und trotzdem bleibt noch ein Weg vor uns. Was ist dein Beitrag zu dieser Veränderung?

DE